Cisco VCS Expressway C/E Licensing

Well, after fudging up once already, I think I have some insight into the licensing for Expressway. Basically my mistake was I took the PAK for the LIC-EXP-E-PAK and assigned all quantities to the C node (The claim document says you can register the PAK multiple times, which I must be interpreting wrong as the licensing portal tells me it’s been fully fulfilled).

What I SHOULD have done evidently is registered as below;

C-Node:

LIC-EXP-RMS-PMP QTY 10
LIC-EXP-SERIES       QTY 1
LIC-EXP-GW           QTY 1

E-Node:

LIC-EXP-RMS-PMP   QTY 10
LIC-EXP-AN           QTY 1 (Optional, if using Advanced Networking)
LIC-EXP-SERIES       QTY 1
LIC-EXP-GW           QTY 1
LIC-EXP-E           QTY 1

Anyways, currently have a case open with TAC Licensing to verify my current assumptions.

UPDATE:
OK, wow, the config guide makes much more sense after the nodes are licensed. The licensing gives the node their identity as either a C-Node or E-Node. The config guide had what I thought were errors, for instance, on the zone configuration page for the E side that didn’t match the actual GUI. Once the license was added, and I deleted what I had put in there before and created a new one, it matches and not the C-Node to E-Node SIP session shows active.

Cisco VCS Expressway C/E Licensing

Leave a comment